The Impossible Burger is now kosher
Since the burgers are made without animal products, they can be eaten with either milk or meat — including cheese — without violating Jewish law.
Those who keep kosher and have been craving a cheeseburger should rejoice — the Impossible Burger, a meatless patty that has made waves for how similar it tastes to real beef, is now certified kosher and pareve.
The Orthodox Union, the United States’ largest kosher certification agency, has given the burgers its stamp of approval, its producer Impossible Foods announced Tuesday.
The kicker: since the burgers are made without animal products, they can be eaten with either milk or meat — including cheese — without violating Jewish law.
Impossible burgers are different from traditional veggie burgers because they are made directly from proteins and other ingredients including wheat protein, potato protein and coconut oil. The key ingredient, according to the company, is a protein called heme that gives the burgers their meaty taste and texture. They are known for “bleeding” just like a normal burger — and tasting awfully close to one as well.
The product has been a resounding success, and its parent company has raised hundreds of millions of dollars of investments.
“Getting kosher certification is an important milestone,” said Patrick O. Brown, Impossible Foods CEO and founder. “We want the Impossible Burger to be ubiquitous, and that means it must be affordable and accessible to everyone — including people who have food restrictions for religious reasons.”
Impossible Burgers are also in the process of receiving halal certification, which should come through later this year, according to the company. PJC