Rubin, Rosensaft join Chronicle’s Op-ed columnists

Rubin, Rosensaft join Chronicle’s Op-ed columnists

Two new regular columnists are joining The Chronicle’s lineup of opinion writers.
Joel Rubin and Menachem Rosensaft will begin writing on a regular rotating basis this month. They will join Jay Bushinsky, Abby Wisse Schachter and Gary Rosenblatt.
Executive Editor Lee Chottiner said the addition of Rubin and Rosensaft would broaden the scope of the opinion pages while offering more liberal perspective to those of its established columnists.
A Pittsburgh native, Rubin is the deputy director and chief operating officer of the National Security Network in Washington, D.C. He recently served as both the political director and the government affairs director of J Street, the political arm of the pro-Israel, pro-peace movement.
Before joining J Street, Rubin served as an aide to two senior Democratic senators on foreign policy, defense and appropriations. He also held foreign policy positions at the U.S. State Department in both Near Eastern affairs and political-military affairs and domestic policy positions at the Department of Energy in renewable energy and climate change.
• • •
Born in 1948 in the Displaced Persons camp of Bergen-Belsen, Germany, the son of Holocaust survivors, Rosensaft is a lawyer and vice president of the American Gathering of Jewish Holocaust Survivors and Their Descendants. He is also the founding chair of the International Network of Children of Jewish Holocaust Survivors, and an adjunct professor of law at Cornell Law School where he teaches a course on World War II war crimes trials.
Rosensaft is a former national president of the Labor Zionist Alliance and was president of the Park Avenue Synagogue in Manhattan from 2003 until 2008. In June, he became a member of the U.S. delegation to the Prague Conference on Holocaust Era Assets. 
Already a widely published columnist in newspapers and online news sites, Rosensaft won the American Jewish Press Association’s 2006 Simon Rockower Award for Excellence in Feature Writing.